The percussionist Burkhard Beins develops individual playing techniques as a composer-performer, including various sound objects, analog synthesizers and live electronics. On this basis, he has created numerous sound installations, both solo and in collaboration with artists such as Sven-Åke Johansson, John Tilbury and Charlemagne Palestine. Burkhard Beins is a member of various ensembles, has been Artist-In-Residence at EMS Stockholm, Muong Studios in Hoa Binh/Vietnam and the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation in Florida. In addition, he has appeared in international guest performances and toured at festivals for experimental and new music in Europe, America, Asia and Australia. He is co-editor and co-author of the 2011 book “Echtzeitmusik Berlin – Selbstbestimmung einer Szene” and curator of a subsequent CD compilation.
www.burkhardbeins.de

Michael Vorfeld is a musician and visual artist who plays percussion and self-designed string instruments and realizes electroacoustic sound works in the fields of experimental and improvised music. He develops site-specific installations and performances with light and sound, and works with photography and film. Michael Vorfeld is a member of various formations and cooperates with artists from various artistic fields. In addition to installations and exhibitions at home and abroad, concerts and performances have taken him to Kassel, Munich, Brussels, Prague, Chicago, Melbourne and Brisbane, Rio de Janeiro and Hanoi. Site-specific works were created for planetariums, the water reservoir Prenzlauer-Berg, a swimming pool in Copenhagen, the border station Nordhorn-Enschede, the Botanical Garden in Metz and the former Kindl Brewery Neukölln.
www.vorfeld.org

Born in Iceland, Thorbjörn Björnsson studied singing at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin. He worked as an actor in numerous productions with the music theatre director David Marton, among others at the Schaubühne Berlin, the Dresdner Staatsschauspiel, the Schauspiel Hannover, the Schauspiel Stuttgart, the Volksbühne Berlin and the Münchner Kammerspiele as well as at the Opéra de Lyon. Together with Annika Stadler he made his debut in 2014 as director, theatre maker and performer with the plays “Das Verein” (Neuköllner Opera) and “Holzfæller” (Sophiensæle). Together with Julia Marx Thorbjörn Björnsson developed in 2018 the music theatre play “Replay” at the Schlossplatztheater Köpenick as well as the outdoor video installation “Insider”. He works closely with the music theatre collective HAUEN UND STECHEN, for whose productions he has appeared at the Opera Stabile of the Hamburgische Staatsoper, the Sophiensælen Berlin and the Bayerische Staatsoper.

Julia Marx studied literature and cultural studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, UNAM in Mexico City and Bogaziçi University in Istanbul. She has worked with the director Julia Lwowski of the music theatre collective HAUEN UND STECHEN as dramaturge and performer on several occasions, including for “Die Fledermaus” at the Neuköllner Opera and the opera performance “Das letzte Loch, Vol. 3” at the Galerina Steiner. Together with Thorbjörn Björnsson she developed in 2018 the music theatre play “Replay” at the Schlossplatztheater Köpenick as well as the outdoor video installation “Insider” and wrote the texts for both productions. The next collaboration between Björnsson / Marx will follow in autumn 2019 with the performance “Wer nichts macht, nichts falsch”.

Gianfranco Celestino and Annalisa Derossi both come from Turin, are both studied pianists and professional dancers and composed solo pieces for dance and grand piano, initially independently of each other, before joining forces for their “Duo con Piano” (2014). Gianfranco Celestino studied music in Turin as a pianist at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi and dance at the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen, Venice and Vienna. He toured with the company Les Ballets C. de la B. and worked with Bernard Baumgarten and the Arazzo Tanztheater Köln. Since 2002 he has devoted himself mainly to choreography. Annalisa Derossi studied parallel in Piano and Dance and has lived in Berlin since 1991. Guest engagements have taken her to major theatres such as the Volksbühne Berlin and the Burgtheater Vienna. Until 2012 she had a long-standing collaboration with the composer Ruedi Häusermann. Annalisa Derossi works as a musician, dancer, choreographer and composer mainly for interdisciplinary theatre projects, site-specific performances and scenic concert programmes.
www.duoconpiano.wordpress.com 

The Berliner Ensemble DieOrdnungDerDinge, founded in Berlin in 2011, is dedicated to the design and testing of new musical theatre formats. Their projects turn compositions of sounds, objects, light and movement into music. The programmes follow a scenic dramaturgy in which the ensemble members do not act as music interpreters in the classical sense, but as theatrical figures on the basis of musical forms and rules. The name of the ensemble – TheOrderOfThings – marks its aesthetics: Principles and structures, order and disorder are examined in a playful and pleasurable way. In Berlin, the ensemble most recently worked at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (“Bestiarium”, 2018) and the Heimathafen Neukölln (“If You Know What I Mean”, 2017). In cooperation with Deutschlandradio Kultur, it developed its own radio format in 2017. Since 2014 a regular cooperation with the PODIUM Festival Esslingen has developed. Guest performances have also taken the ensemble to Zurich, Basel, Bern, Bilbao and Budapest.
www.dieordnungderdinge.com

The music theatre collective HAUEN UND STECHEN was founded in Berlin in 2012 by the directors Franziska Kronfoth and Julia Lwowski with the aim of creating a contemporary music theatre that transcends borders and genres. The focus of their work is to examine classical works of opera and to translate them into disparate art spaces and the polyphonic, wild sound world of a collective. The ensemble has performed in established institutions such as the Hamburg State Opera (“Orpheus”, 2016), the Bavarian State Opera (“Zeig mir deine Wunder, 2018”) and the Deutsche Oper Berlin (“Aus dem Hinterhalt: Il viaggio a Reims”, 2018) as well as in independent production houses such as the Sophiensaele (“Fidelio – Ein deutscher Albtraum in vier Folgen”, 2017/2018), the Neuköllner Oper, the Ballhaus Ost, the Münchener Schwere Reiter and the Schwankhalle Bremen. The collective often also works site-specifically, for example at the Grießmühle in Neukölln, the Wilden Renate open-air grounds or the house of the Schoeck family of artists in Brunnen (Switzerland).
www.hauen-und-stechen.com

Johannes Kreidler studied composition, electronic music and music theory at the Musikhochschule Freiburg and the Konservatorium Den Haag and teaches multimedia composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg and composition and theory at the Hochschule für Musik Basel from autumn 2019. As a composer, conceptual and media artist, he always works at the interfaces between composition, performance, visual art and video art as well as digital forms of presentation, and in the field of music theatre, including the music theatre performance “Audioguide” (2013/14) and the opera “Mein Staat als Freund und Geliebte” (My State as Friend and Beloved), which was created in 2018 at the Opera House in Halle. His works have been shown at the Donaueschinger Musiktage, the Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, the MaerzMusik Berlin, Ultraschall Berlin, the Biennale de Musique en Scène Lyon, Wien Modern, Ultima Oslo, Peripheryberry Reykjavík, the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, the Warschauer Herbst and the Goethe-Institut Chicago.
www.kreidler-net.de

PHØNIX16 is a collective of singers for contemporary and experimental vocal music founded in Berlin in 2012 under the artistic direction of Timo Kreuser. The repertoire of the twelve singers includes a capella works for 1 to 16 voices as well as works with electronics, instruments, machines and moving images. In close collaboration with composers and the constant research of singing techniques the collective developed a homogeneous and at the same time flexible overall sound. PHØNIX16 curated and produced the two concert series “D.O.A. (dead on arrival)” and “POPPEN | ARBEITEN | ERSCHRECKEN | SHOPPEN” in Berlin. The performances of the two series are designed as concertante spatial situations, intermedial musical interdependencies and the ensemble’s critical examination of the social present. In addition, PØNIX16 is constantly in contact with other groups such as Poing, Ensemble Mosaik, Zafraan Ensemble, Kwartludium and S.A.F.T. for projects and performances at home and abroad.
www.phoenix16.de

MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik was founded in 2010 by scholarship holders of the International Ensemble Modern Academy out of enthusiasm for new forms of playing contemporary music. In addition to cultivating a contemporary repertoire, the musicians feel a particular commitment to alternative and experimental playing practices at the interface between performance, improvisation and the interpretation of composed music. In its concerts, the ensemble regularly contrasts music of different origins, epochs and disciplines. The ensemble has collaborated with composers such as Mark Andre, Hans-Joachim Hespos, Neo Hülcker, Jagoda Szmytka and Simon Steen-Andersen and appears at numerous festivals, including the Darmstadt Summer Courses for New Music, the AchtBrücken Festival in Cologne, the Klangwerkstatt Berlin, the klub katarakt festival Hamburg and the ECLAT Festival neue Musik Stuttgart.
www.manufaktur-aktuelle-musik.de

The German composer of Chinese origin Hang Su works in the intermedial field of contemporary music, sound and visual arts. He studied at the Minzu University in Beijing and the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig. Hang Su was a scholarship holder of the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, the Künstlerhaus Lukas and is a founding member of the Verein forma Leipzig e.V. While his early works were based on a phonetic analysis of the Chinese language, he has been experimenting with contemporary playing techniques on the traditional Chinese zither Qin since 2015. Spatial scores combine improvisational processes with spatial sound movements, video projections are translated into musical gestures as part of a performance, sound becomes notation and image. Hang Sus works have been performed in Germany, Great Britain and Austria by ensembles such as Trio Sostenuto, Ensemble Handwerk, Ensemble forma Leipzig, Ensemble MAM and others.
www.hangsu-composer.com

NOVOFLOT is an independent opera company in Berlin. Since its founding in 2002, the group has developed various project formats with the aim of exploring the genre of opera with regard to its production processes and contemporary aesthetics. In addition to Krenek’s “Glockenturm” and Traetta’s “Antigone”, the ten-part opera saga “Kommander Kobayashi”, the trilogy “WAS WIR FÜHLEN”, “Das Weihnachtsoratorium” as well as the multi-part project series “Der Sieg über die Sonne”, “Nationaloper”, “Die Bibel” and the “T-House-Tour” have been created so far. Collaborations have taken place with the Sophiensaele, the Radialsystem V, the Akademie der Künste Berlin, the Volksbühne Berlin, the Hamburgische Staatsoper, the Warsaw Autumn, the Théâtre National du Luxembourg and the Trafó Budapest. In 2014 NOVOFLOT were awarded the George Tabori Prize.
www.novoflot.de

Opera Lab Berlin, founded in Berlin in 2013 by composer Evan Gardner and director Michael Höppner, sees itself as a laboratory for voice and instrumental playing. In its works, the ensemble, consisting of a directing team, musicians and singers, seeks to confront its own reality of life. For its music theatre series “Im Feld”, Opera Lab Berlin brought together composers and directing teams from 2015, who together with the ensemble realised smaller productions in rehearsal phases of one to two weeks each. In addition, the ensemble has developed numerous new productions of existing works from the field of contemporary music and music theatre, including Mauricio Kagel’s “Staatstheater” (2017), as well as its own premieres such as “Gunfighter Nation” (2018) and “Lonely Hearts Bus Tour” (2019). Opera Lab Berlin has collaborated with established music theatre institutions such as the Munich Biennale for New Music Theatre, the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Staatsoper Berlin.
www.opera-lab-berlin.com

Ensemble Garage was founded in 2009 by the composer Brigitta Muntendorf and the composer Rodrigo Lopez Klingenfuss. The ten members of the ensemble unite seven nations and focus on the works of young composers and joint rehearsals. The inclusion of transmedial works and music-theatrical elements are essential components of their work. Numerous concerts in Germany and abroad have taken the musicians to the AchtBrücken Festival Cologne, Ultraschall Berlin, Tonlagen Festival Hellerau, Donaueschinger Musiktage, De Bijloke Gent, Eastman School of Rochester and the Darmstadt Summer Courses. Since 2013 the ensemble has been organising concerts with the series “Frau Musica (nova)” between club culture, experimental music theatre, performance and electronic extensions.
http://beta.ensemble-garage.de

The German-Austrian composer Brigitta Muntendorf studied composition in Bremen and Cologne. During her studies she founded the Ensemble Garage. With her work as a composer, she pursues the vision of a music that not only refers to itself through transmediality and multi-layered contextualization, but also specifically seeks references to other forms of art and expression. Her project series “Public Privacy”, her music theatre “FIGO” for the Munich Biennale for New Music Theatre (2016) and her Social Media Opera “iScreen, YouScream!” for the ECLAT Festival New Music Stuttgart (2017) attracted particular attention. Brigitta Muntendorf’s work has been influenced by various scholarships, including the Cité Internationale des Arts Paris (2010), the Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (2012) and the Villa Kamogawa Kyoto (2017). She has received numerous scholarships and prizes, in particular the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation’s Förderpreis and in 2017 the Deutscher Musikautorenpreis in the category of young musicians.
www.brigitta-muntendorf.de

Sirje Aleksandra Viise is an Estonian-American vocalist, performer and artist. She studied visual arts and music in Indiana, New York, Boston and Berlin and specializes in advanced singing techniques, contemporary and experimental music, performance and sculpture. In her solo programs and performances she questions the character of female performers and the role of the singer in today’s society. Sirje Viise has worked with composers such as Vinko Globokar, Simon Steen-Andersen, Genoël von Lillienstern and Kirsten Reese as well as with Nico and the Navigators, Ensemble Mosaik, Zafraan Ensemble and Figura Ensemble Copenhagen. Her work has been performed at the Akademie der Künste Berlin, MaerzMusik Berlin, Documenta14 in Athens, Harbin Grand Theater in China, Teater Får302 in Copenhagen, Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, National Opera Estonia, Latvian National Opera and Carnegie Hall New York.
www.sirjeviise.com

Club Gewalt is a music theatre collective from Rotterdam consisting of seven inter-disciplinary performers who all enjoyed an education in different styles of singing. The collective is committed to a powerful, loud theatrical language that combines opera and entertainment genres. Music and especially singing are always carriers of content and narration. In their work, Club Gewalt seeks to create an undisguised access to traditions and their current contexts, mainly through the use of new media. The ensemble repeatedly picks up on themes and biographies of 21st century society, for example in their play “YURI” about the failure of the Dutch Olympic athlete Yuri van Gelder, or in “MAN ON WIRE”, an intermedial music theatre performance about the French highwire artist Philippe Petit, and is inspired by a wide variety of artists such as Monteverdi, Marcel Duchamp, David Bowie, Andy Kaufman and South Park.
www.clubgewalt.nl

The Amsterdam-born composer Huba de Graaff has been working in the field of contemporary music theatre for around 25 years. She studied violin, sonology and composition with Louis Andriessen, Dick Raaymakers, Gilius van Bergeyk and Fredric Rzewski. In often interdisciplinary working contexts she deals with connections between analog and electronic instruments, also on the basis of the development of her own software and sound systems, as well as with technique and expression of singing, voice and noise as tools for singer-performers. Her opera “Apera” (2013), for example, is based entirely on recordings of monkeys, while “Pornopera” (2014) is based exclusively on sound spectra of moaning. Her important works also include “The Naked Shit Songs” (2017), a music-theatrical reconstruction of an interview with Theo van Gogh and Gilbert & George.
www.hubadegraaff.com

Sanne van Rijn is a Dutch director, dramaturge and producer. She studied classical ballet and photography as well as art studies at the conservatory in The Hague. She has worked as a director and actress for Zuidelijk Toneel and NTGent, among others, and has been a freelance artist ever since. Sanne van Rijn has specialised in theatre forms that function outside conventional frameworks. She has worked with ensembles and artists such as Forced Entertainment, Project Wildeman, Christoph Marthaler, Johan Simons and Huba de Graaff. Her works have been awarded several prizes.
www.sannevanrijn.nl

In their works, the four performers of the Dutch music theatre ensemble Project Wildeman combine music, spoken word and performance art into interactive, mostly site-specific, improvisational and sometimes grotesque music-theatrical events. Rituals go hand in hand with contemporary art styles and performance practices. The performances are always aimed at a close proximity to the audience and direct communication with it, the music is often improvised live on practically unlimited instruments. In addition to the music and literature canon as for “Salomé” (2012), “Woyzeck” (2014) and “Heart of Darkness” (2016), the works of Project Wildeman refer to social situations in the balance between the modern world and its archaic counterparts.
www.projectwildeman.nl

#BamMusikTheater
InstaBAM!
Programm zum Download
Facebook
Events
ZMB – Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin

Der Perkussionist Burkhard Beins entwickelt als Composer-Performer individuelle Spieltechniken unter Einbezug verschiedenster Klangobjekte, analoger Synthesizer und Live-Elektronik. Auf dieser Basis erarbeitete er zahlreiche Klanginstallationen, sowohl solistisch als auch gemeinsam etwa mit Künstler*innen wie Sven-Åke Johansson, John Tilbury oder Charlemagne Palestine. Burkhard Beins ist Mitglied diverser Ensembles, war Artist-In-Residence bei EMS Stockholm, den Muong Studios in Hoa Binh/Vietnam sowie der Robert Rauschenberg Foundation in Florida. Daneben haben ihn Auftritte und Tourneen zu internationalen Gastspielen und Festivals für experimentelle und Neue Musik in Europa, Amerika, Asien und Australien geführt. Er ist Mitherausgeber und Co-Autor des 2011 erschienenen Buches »Echtzeitmusik Berlin – Selbstbestimmung einer Szene«, sowie Kurator einer daran anschließenden CD-Kompilation.
www.burkhardbeins.de

Michael Vorfeld ist Musiker und bildender Künstler, spielt Perkussion und selbst entworfene Saiteninstrumente und realisiert elektroakustische Klangarbeiten in den Bereichen experimentelle und improvisierte Musik. Er entwickelt ortsbezogene Installationen und Performances mit Licht und Klang, und arbeitet mit Fotografie und Film. Michael Vorfeld ist Mitglied verschiedener Formationen und kooperiert mit Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Neben Installationen und Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland führten ihn Konzerte und Performances u. a. nach Kassel, München, Brüssel, Prag, Chicago, Melbourne und Brisbane, Rio de Janeiro und Hanoi. Ortsspezifische Arbeiten entstanden etwa für Planetarien, den Wasserspeicher Prenzlauer-Berg, für ein Schwimmbad in Kopenhagen, die Grenzstation Nordhorn-Enschede, den Botanischen Garten in Metz und die ehemalige Kindl Brauerei Neukölln.
www.vorfeld.org

Der gebürtige Isländer Thorbjörn Björnsson studierte Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin. Er arbeitete als Darsteller in zahlreichen Produktionen mit dem Musiktheaterregisseur David Marton zusammen, u. a. an der Schaubühne Berlin, dem Dresdner Staatsschauspiel, dem Schauspiel Hannover, dem Schauspiel Stuttgart, der Volksbühne Berlin und den Münchner Kammerspielen sowie 2019 an der Opéra de Lyon. Gemeinsam mit Annika Stadler debütierte er 2014 als Regisseur, Theatermacher und Performer mit den Stücken »Das Verein« (Neuköllner Oper) und »Holzfæller« (Sophiensæle). Zusammen mit Julia Marx entwickelte Thorbjörn Björnsson 2018 das Musiktheaterstück »Replay« am Schlossplatztheater Köpenick sowie die Outdoor-Videoinstallation »Insider«. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn mit dem Musiktheaterkollektiv HAUEN UND STECHEN, für deren Produktionen er u. a. an der Opera Stabile der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, in den Sophiensælen Berlin und an der Bayerischen Staatsoper zu sehen war.

Julia Marx studierte Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der UNAM in Mexiko City und der Bogaziçi University in Istanbul. Mit der Regisseurin Julia Lwowski vom Musiktheaterkollektiv HAUEN UND STECHEN arbeitete sie mehrfach als Dramaturgin und Performerin zusammen, u. a. für »Die Fledermaus« an der Neuköllner Oper und die Opernperformance »Das letzte Loch, Vol. 3« in der Galerina Steiner. Gemeinsam mit Thorbjörn Björnsson entwickelte sie 2018 das Musiktheaterstück »Replay« am Schlossplatztheater Köpenick sowie die Outdoor-Videoinstallation »Insider« und schrieb für beide Produktionen die Texte. Die nächste Zusammenarbeit von Björnsson / Marx folgt im Herbst 2019 mit der Performance »Wer nichts macht, macht nichts falsch«.

Gianfranco Celestino und Annalisa Derossi stammen beide aus Turin, sind beide studierte Pianist*innen sowie professionelle Tänzer*innen und komponierten früh, zunächst unabhängig voneinander, solistische Stücke für Tanz und Flügel, bevor sie sich für ihr »Duo con Piano« (2014) zusammengefunden haben. Gianfranco Celestino absolvierte sein Musikstudium in Turin als Pianist am Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi sowie sein Tanzstudium an der Folkwang Hochschule in Essen, in Venedig und Wien. Er tourte mit der Company Les Ballets C. de la B. und arbeitete u. a. mit Bernard Baumgarten und dem Arazzo Tanztheater Köln zusammen. Seit 2002 widmet er sich überwiegend der Choreografie. Annalisa Derossi studierte parallel in Turin und Paris und lebt seit 1991 in Berlin. Gastengagements führten sie an große Theaterhäuser wie die Volksbühne Berlin und das Burgtheater Wien. Bis 2012 verband sie eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Ruedi Häusermann. Annalisa Derossi erarbeitet als Musikerin, Tänzerin, Choreografin und Komponistin hauptsächlich für interdisziplinäre Theaterprojekte, ortsspezifische Performances und szenische Konzertprogramme.
www.annalisaderossi.dance-germany.org

Das 2011 gegründete Berliner Ensemble DieOrdnungDerDinge hat sich der Gestaltung und Erprobung neuer Musiktheaterformate verschrieben. In seinen Projekten werden Kompositionen aus Klängen, Objekten, Licht und Bewegung zu Musik. Die Programme folgen einer szenischen Dramaturgie, bei der die Ensemblemitglieder nicht als Musikinterpreten im klassischen Sinn agieren, sondern als theatrale Figuren anhand musikalischer Formen und Regeln. Dabei ist der Name des Ensembles Programm: Auf spielerisch-lustvolle Weise werden Prinzipien und Strukturen, Ordnungen und Unordnungen untersucht. In Berlin arbeitete das Ensemble zuletzt u.a. im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (»Bestiarium«, 2018) und im Heimathafen Neukölln (»If You Know What I Mean«, 2017). In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschlandradio Kultur entwickelte es 2017 ein eigenes Radioformat. Seit 2014 hat sich eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit dem PODIUM Festival Esslingen entwickelt. Daneben führten Gastspiele das Ensemble u.a. nach Zürich, Basel, Bern, Bilbao und Budapest.
www.dieordnungderdinge.com

Das Musiktheaterkollektiv Hauen und Stechen wurde 2012 von den Musiktheaterregisseurinnen Franziska Kronfoth und Julia Lwowski in Berlin gegründet, mit dem Ziel eines zeitgemäßen, grenz- und genreübergreifenden Musiktheaters. Im Zentrum der Arbeit steht die Auseinandersetzung mit den klassischen Werken der Opernliteratur und ihre Übersetzung in disparate Kunsträume und die polyphone, wilde Klangwelt eines Kollektivs. Das Ensemble spielte sowohl in etablierten Institutionen wie der Hamburgischen Staatsoper (»Orpheus«, 2016), der Bayerischen Staatsoper (»Zeig mir deine Wunder, 2018«) und der Deutschen Oper Berlin (»Aus dem Hinterhalt: Il viaggio a Reims«, 2018) sowie in freien Produktionshäusern wie den Sophiensaelen (»Fidelio – Ein deutscher Albtraum in vier Folgen«, 2017/2018), in der Neuköllner Oper, dem Ballhaus Ost sowie dem Münchener Schwere Reiter und der Schwankhalle Bremen. Das Kollektiv arbeitet häufig auch ortsspezifisch, wie etwa in der Neuköllner Grießmühle, dem Open Air-Gelände der Wilden Renate oder dem Haus der Künstlerfamilie Schoeck in Brunnen (Schweiz).
www.hauen-und-stechen.com

Johannes Kreidler studierte an der Musikhochschule Freiburg und am Konservatorium Den Haag Komposition, Elektronische Musik und Musiktheorie und lehrt Multimediale Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg sowie ab 2019 Komposition und Theorie an der Hochschule für Musik Basel. Als Komponist, Konzept- und Medienkünstler arbeitet er stets an den Schnittstellen zwischen Komposition, Performance, Visueller Kunst und Videokunst sowie digitalen Präsentationsformen und im Feld des Musiktheaters, darunter etwa die Musiktheater-Performance »Audioguide« (2013/14) oder die 2018 an der Oper Halle entstandene Oper »Mein Staat als Freund und Geliebte«. Seine Arbeiten wurden u. a. bei den Donaueschinger Musiktagen, den Wittener Tagen für Neue Kammermusik, der MaerzMusik Berlin, bei Ultraschall Berlin, der Biennale de Musique en Scène Lyon, Wien Modern, Ultima Oslo, Peripheryberry Reykjavík, dem Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival sowie im Warschauer Herbst und dem Goethe-Institut Chicago gezeigt.
www.kreidler-net.de

PHØNIX16 ist ein 2012 in Berlin gegründetes Sängerkollektiv für zeitgenössische und experimentelle Vokalmusik, unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Timo Kreuser. Das Repertoire der zwölf Sänger*innen beinhaltet sowohl a capella-Werke für 1 bis 16 Stimmen, sowie solche in Erweiterung mit Elektronik, Instrumenten, Maschinen und bewegtem Bild. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Komponist*innen und der stetigen Erorschung von Gesangstechniken hat das Kollektiv einen homogenen und zugleich flexiblen Gesamtklang entwickelt. PHØNIX16 kuratierte und produzierte u. a. in Berlin die zwei Konzertreihen »D.O.A. (dead on arrival)« sowie »POPPEN | ARBEITEN | ERSCHRECKEN | SHOPPEN«. Die Aufführungen der beiden Reihen gestalten sich als konzertante Raumsituationen, intermediale musikalische Verflechtungen und kritische Auseinandersetzung des Ensembles mit der gesellschaftlichen Gegenwart. Daneben verbindet sich PØNIX16 immer wieder mit anderen Gruppen wie etwa Poing, dem Ensemble Mosaik, dem Zafraan Ensemble, Kwartludium und S.A.F.T. für Projekte und Aufführungen im In- und Ausland.
www.phoenix16.de

MAM.manufaktur für aktuelle musik wurde 2010 von Stipendiaten der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie gegründet, aus der Begeisterung für neue Spielformen heutiger Musik heraus. Neben der Pflege eines zeitgenössischen Repertoires fühlen sich die Musiker*innen vor allem alternativen und experimentellen Spielpraktiken an der Schnittstelle zwischen Performance, Improvisation und der Interpretation komponierter Musik verpflichtet. In seinen Konzerten kontrastiert das Ensemble regelmäßig Musiken unterschiedlicher Herkunft, Epochen und Disziplinen. Das Ensemble arbeitete bereits mit Komponist*innen wie Mark Andre, Hans-Joachim Hespos, Neo Hülcker, Jagoda Szmytka und Simon Steen-Andersen zusammen und tritt bei zahlreichen Festivals auf, u.a. den Darmstädter Ferienkursen für Neue Musik, dem AchtBrücken Festival in Köln, der Klangwerkstatt Berlin, dem klub katarakt festival Hamburg und dem ECLAT Festival neue Musik Stuttgart.
www.manufaktur-aktuelle-musik.de

Der deutsche Komponist chinesischer Herkunft Hang Su arbeitet im intermedialen Feld von zeitgenössischer Musik, Klang- und visueller Kunst. Er studierte an der Minzu Universität in Beijing und der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig. Hang Su war Stipendiat der Heinrich Böll Stiftung, der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, des Künstlerhaus Lukas und ist Gründungsmitglied des Vereins forma Leipzig e.V. Während seine frühen Arbeiten auf einer phonetischen Analyse der chinesischen Sprache basierten, experimentiert er seit 2015 mit zeitgenössischen Spieltechniken auf der traditionellen chinesischen Zither Qin. Räumliche Partituren verbinden Improvisationsprozesse mit Raumklang-Bewegungen, Videoprojektionen werden als Teil einer Performance in musikalische Gesten übersetzt, Klang wird zu Notation und Bild. Hang Sus Werke wurden in Deutschland, Großbritannien und Österreich von Ensembles wie dem Trio Sostenuto, dem Ensemble Handwerk, Ensemble forma Leipzig, dem Ensemble MAM u. a. aufgeführt.
www.hangsu-composer.com

NOVOFLOT ist eine freie Opernkompanie in Berlin. Seit ihrer Gründung 2002 entwickelt die Gruppe unterschiedliche Projektformate mit dem Ziel, das Genre Oper hinsichtlich ihrer Produktionsprozesse und der daraus entstehenden zeitgenössischen Ästhetiken zu erforschen. Neben Kreneks »Glockenturm« und Traettas »Antigone« entstanden bisher u. a. die zehnteilige Opernsaga »Kommander Kobayashi«, die Trilogie »WAS WIR FÜHLEN«, »Das Weihnachtsoratorium« sowie die jeweils mehrteilgen Projektreihen »Der Sieg über die Sonne«, »Nationaloper«, »Die Bibel« und die »T-House-Tour«. Zusammenarbeiten erfolgten u.a. mit den Sophiensaelen, dem Radialsystem V, der Akademie der Künste Berlin, der Volksbühne Berlin, der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, dem Warschauer Herbst, dem Théâtre National du Luxembourg und dem Trafó Budapest. 2014 wurden NOVOFLOT mit dem George Tabori Preis ausgezeichnet.
www.novoflot.de

Opera Lab Berlin, 2013 vom Komponisten Evan Gardner und dem Regisseur Michael Höppner in Berlin gegründet, versteht sich als ein Labor für Stimme und Instrumentalspiel. In seinen Arbeiten sucht das Ensemble bestehend aus Regieteam, Musiker*innen und Sänger*innen die Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Lebenswirklichkeit. Für seine Musiktheaterreihe »Im Feld« brachte Opera Lab Berlin ab 2015 Komponist*innen und Regieteams zusammen, die gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble in jeweils ein- bis zweiwöchigen Probenphasen kleinere Produktionen realisierten. Daneben entwickelte das Ensemble zahlreiche Neuproduktionen bestehender Werke aus dem Bereich zeitgenössischer Musik und zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters, darunter u.a. Mauricio Kagels »Staatstheater« (2017), sowie eigene Uraufführungen wie »Gunfighter Nation« (2018) und »Lonely Hearts Bus Tour« (2019). Opera Lab Berlin kooperierte mit etablierten Musiktheaterinstitutionen wie der Münchener Biennale für Neues Musiktheater, der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Staatsoper Berlin.
www.opera-lab-berlin.com

Das Ensemble Garage wurde 2009 von der Komponistin Brigitta Muntendorf und dem Komponisten Rodrigo Lopez Klingenfuss gegründet. Das zehnköpfige und sieben Nationen verbindende Ensemble Garage richtet seinen Fokus auf Werke junger Komponisten*innen und die gemeinsame Probenarbeit. Die Einbeziehung transmedialer Werke und musiktheatralischer Elemente sind dabei wesentliche Bestandteile seiner Arbeit. Zahlreiche Konzerte im In- und Ausland führten die Musiker*innen u. a. zum AchtBrücken Festival Köln, zu Ultraschall Berlin, dem Tonlagen Festival Hellerau, den Donaueschinger Musiktagen, in De Bijloke Gent, an die Eastman School of Rochester sowie zu den Darmstädter Ferienkursen. Seit 2013 veranstaltet das Ensemble mit der Reihe »Frau Musica (nova)« Konzerte zwischen Clubkultur, experimentellem Musiktheater, Performance und elektronischen Erweiterungen.
http://beta.ensemble-garage.de

Die deutsch-österreichische Komponistin Brigitta Muntendorf studierte Komposition in Bremen und Köln. Während ihres Studiums gründete sie das international aufgestellte Ensemble Garage. Mit ihrer Arbeit als Komponistin verfolgt sie die Vision einer Musik, die durch Transmedialität und vielschichte Kontextualisierung nicht nur auf sich selbst verweist, sondern gezielt Verweise zu anderen Kunst- und Ausdrucksformen sucht. Besondere Beachtung fand ihre Projektreihe »Public Privacy«, ihr Musiktheater »FIGO« für die Münchener Biennale für Neues Musiktheater (2016) und ihre Social Media Opera »iScreen, YouScream!« für das ECLAT Festival neue Musik Stuttgart (2017). Verschiedene Arbeitsstipendien prägten Brigitta Muntendorfs Schaffen, darunter die Cité Internationale des Arts Paris (2010), die Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (2012) und die Villa Kamogawa Kyoto (2017). Sie erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Preise, insbesondere den Förderpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und 2017 den Deutschen Musikautorenpreis in der Sparte Nachwuchs.
www.brigitta-muntendorf.de

Sirje Aleksandra Viise ist eine estländisch-amerikansiche Vokalistin, Performerin und Künstlerin. Sie absolvierte ein Studium in Visueller Kunst und Musik in Indiana, New York, Boston und Berlin und ist spezialisiert auf erweiterte Gesangstechniken, zeitgenössische und experimentelle Musik, Performance und Skulptur. In ihren Soloprogrammen und Performances hinterfragt sie den Charakter weiblicher Performerinnen und die Rolle des/der Sänger*in in der heutigen Gesellschaft. Sirje Viise arbeitete mit Komponist*innen wie Vinko Globokar, Simon Steen-Andersen, Genoël von Lillienstern und Kirsten Reese sowie u.a. mit Nico and the Navigators, dem Ensemble Mosaik, dem Zafraan Ensemble und dem Figura Ensemble Kopenhagen. Ihre Arbeiten waren bereits in der Akademie der Künste Berlin, bei der MaerzMusik Berlin, der Documenta14 in Athen, dem Harbin Grand Theater in China, dem Teater Får302 in Kopenhagen, dem Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, in der Nationaloper Estonia, der Lettischen Nationaloper sowie der Carnegie Hall New York zu sehen.
www.sirjeviise.com

Club Gewalt ist ein Musiktheaterkollektiv aus Rotterdam bestehend aus sieben interisziplinär arbeitenden Performer*innen, die alle eine Ausbildung in verschiedenen Gesangsstilen genossen. Das Kollektiv hat sich einer kraftvollen, lauten Theatersprache verschrieben, die Oper und Unterhaltungsgenres miteinander verbindet. Musik und insbesondere Gesang sind dabei stets Träger von Inhalten und Narration. Club Gewalt sucht in seinen Arbeiten einen unverstellten Zugang zu Traditionen und ihren aktuellen Kontexten zu schaffen, hauptsächlich durch den Einsatz neuer Medien. Das Ensemble greift immer wieder Themen und Biografien der Gesellschaft des 21. Jahrhunderts auf, etwa in ihrem Stück »YURI« über das Scheitern des holländischen Olympia-Athleten Yuri van Gelder, oder in »MAN ON WIRE«, einer intermedialen Musiktheater-Performance über den französischen Hochseilartisten Philippe Petit, und lässt sich dabei inspirieren von unterschiedlichsten Künstler*innen wie Monteverdi, Marcel Duchamp, David Bowie, Andy Kaufman oder South Park.
www.clubgewalt.nl

Die aus Amsterdam stammende Komponistin Huba de Graaff arbeitet seit rund 25 Jahren im Feld zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters. Sie studierte Violine, Sonologie und Komposition bei Louis Andriessen, Dick Raaymakers, Gilius van Bergeyk und Fredric Rzewski. In häufig interdisziplinären Arbeitszusammenhängen beschäftigt sie sich mit Verbindungen zwischen analogen und elektronischen Instrumenten, auch auf Basis der Entwicklung von eigener Software und Sound Systemen, sowie mit Technik und Ausdruck von Gesang, Stimme und Geräusch als Werkzeug für Sänger-Darsteller*innen. Ihre Oper »Apera« (2013) etwa basiert vollständig auf Aufnahmen von Affen, währned »Pornopera«(2014) ausschließlich auf Geräuschspektren des Stöhnens basiert. Zu ihren wichtigen Arbeiten zählt auch »The Naked Shit Songs« (2017), einer musiktheatralen Rekonstruktion eines Interviews mit Theo van Gogh und Gilbert & George.
www.hubadegraaff.com

Die Niederländerin Sanne van Rijn arbeitet als Regisseurin, Dramaturgin und Produzentin. Sie studierte klassisches Ballett und Fotografie sowie Kunstwissenschaften am Konservatorium in Den Haag. Als Regisseurin und Darstellerin arbeitete sie u. a. für Zuidelijk Toneel und NTGent; seither ist die freischaffend tätig. Sanne van Rijn hat sich auf Theaterformen spezialisiert, die außerhalb herkömmlicher Rahmensetzungen fungieren. Sie arbeitete u. a. mit Ensembles und Künstler*innen wie Forced Entertainment, Project Wildeman, Christoph Marthaler, Johan Simons und Huba de Graaf. Ihre Arbeiten wurden mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet.
www.sannevanrijn.nl

In ihren Arbeiten verbinden die vier Performer des niederländischen Musiktheater-Ensembles Project Wildeman Musik, gesprochenes Wort und Performance Art zu interaktiven, meist ortsspezifischen, improvisatorischen und bisweilen groteskten musiktheatralen Ereignissen. Rituale und Ritualhaftes gehen Hand in Hand mit zeitgenössischen Kunststilen und Aufführungspraktiken. Die Aufführungen der Performer sind stets auf eine große Nähe zum Publkium und die direkte Kommunikation mit ihm ausgerichtet, die Musik wird häufig live improvisiert auf praktisch unbegrenztem Instrumentarium. Neben Vorlagen des Musik- und Literaturkanon wie für »Salomé« (2012), »Woyzeck« (2014) und »Heart of Darkness« (2016) nehmen ihre Arbeiten Bezug auf gesellschaftliche und soziale Situationen in Abgleich zwischen moderner Lebenswelt und ihren archaischen Gegenbildern.
www.projectwildeman.nl

#BamMusikTheater
Programm zum Download
Facebook
Events
ZMB – Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin