BERLIN MEETS ROTTERDAM

Club Gewalt

MAN ON THE WIRE (THE ALBUM PERFORMANCE) (DE)

 

In 1974, in the course of a partisan action, Phillipe Petit succeeded in tensioning a tightrope between the towers of the World Trade Center. Walking on it, he held Manhattan in suspense for forty-five minutes before surrendering to the police.

Club Gewalt are a young music theatre collective from Rotterdam. As important influences they name: Marcel Duchamp, Peaches, South Park and Richard Wagner. Up to the point of composing the music, the members jointly develop their projects.

Four years ago, Club Gewalt dedicated a theatre evening to the French tightrope artist, turning its music later into a studio album. MAN ON WIRE (THE ALBUM PERFORMANCE) is a third step now. In front of a camera, Club Gewalt put on a video clip to the music of this album, placing their ambitions next to those of the famous acrobat: What is your life worth? Should you apologize for it? What are you willing to give up and how much risk are you willing to take?

Concept, Music, Performance: Annelinde Bruijs | Loulou Hameleers | Suzanne Kipping | Robbert Klein | Gerty Van de Perre | Amir Vahidi | Sanna Elon Vrij

Location: Volksbühne – Unteres Foyer

Duration: ca. 30 Minuten

Performances:
Sa 28.9., 16:20 Uhr
Sa 28.9., 18:20 Uhr

Free entrance

A Production of Club Gewalt. Guest performance supported by Dutch Performing Arts, an initiatice of Performing Arts Fund NL

#BamMusikTheater
Programm zum Download
Facebook
Events
ZMB – Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin

BERLIN MEETS ROTTERDAM

Club Gewalt

MAN ON THE WIRE (THE ALBUM PERFORMANCE) (DE)

 

In einer Partisanenaktion glückte es 1974 Phillipe Petit, ein Drahtseil zwischen die Türmen des World Trade Centers zu spannen. Auf ihm spazierend, hielt er fünfundvierzig Minuten Manhattan in Atem, bevor er sich schließlich der Polizei ergab.

Club Gewalt sind ein junges Musiktheaterkollektiv aus Rotterdam. Bis hin zur musikalischen Komposition erarbeiten die Mitglieder ihre Projekte gemeinsam. Als wichtige Einflüsse nennen sie hierbei: Marcel Duchamp, Peaches, South Park und Richard Wagner.

Dem Akrobaten Petit widmete Club Gewalt vor vier Jahren einen Theaterabend, aus dessen Musik wurde danach ein Studioalbum. Einen dritten Schritt nun geht MAN ON WIRE (THE ALBUM PERFORMANCE). Vor den Augen des Publikums und gleichzeitig vor dem Auge einer Kamera stellen Club Gewalt einen Videoclip zur Musik ihres Albums. Ihre Fragen, worin der Sinn dessen liegt, Theater zu machen, stellen die Performer dabei neben die des Ausnahmeakrobaten Petit: Was ist dein Leben wert? Solltest du dich für es entschuldigen? Wie riskant willst du leben und was bist du bereit aufzugeben?

Konzept, Musik, Performance: Annelinde Bruijs | Loulou Hameleers | Suzanne Kipping | Robbert Klein | Gerty Van de Perre | Amir Vahidi | Sanna Elon Vrij

Ort: Volksbühne – Unteres Foyer

Dauer: ca. 30 Minuten

Aufführungen:
Sa 28.9., 16:20 Uhr
Sa 28.9., 18:20 Uhr

Eintritt frei

Eine Produktion von Club Gewalt. Gastspiel gefördert von Dutch Performing Arts, einer Initiative des Performing Arts Fund NL

#BamMusikTheater
InstaBAM!
Programm zum Download
Facebook
Events
ZMB – Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin